Vladimir Vertlib
Photo © Kurt Kaindl/Deuticke im Paul Zsolnay Verlag

Vladimir Vertlib

Vladimir Vertlib was born in 1966 in Leningrad (St. Petersburg). In 1971 his family left the Soviet Union for what turned out to be a lengthy migration to Israel, Austria, Italy, the Netherlands, and the United States (New York and Boston), before finally settling in Austria in 1981.

Vladimir Vertlib attained Austrian citizenship in 1986 during the time when he was studying economics at the University of Vienna. He has worked as a freelance journalist, an insurance actuary, and a bank analyst. In 1993, he wholly dedicated himself to writing. His first novel Abschiebung was published in 1995, his tenth (and eighth work of fiction) is entitled Lucia Binar und die russische Seele and was published in 2015. He has received several fellowships and prestigious literary awards, such as the Anton Wildgans Prize of Austrian Industry and the Adelbert von Chamisso Prize of the Robert Bosch Foundation for non-native authors of literary works in German (both in 2001). His works have been or are currently being translated into French, Italian, Russian, English, Czech, and Slovenian. Vladimir Vertlib now lives in Salzburg.   (2017)


Winter 2017 (Issue 12), My First Murderer
Winter 2014 (Issue 09), Way Stations
Winter 2014 (Issue 09), The Silence of Shimon